Tuesday, December 20, 2011

The Enchantress: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel

The Enchantress: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicolas Flamel is the final novel in the six book series: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel.[1] It is written by Irish author Michael Scott and will be published by Random House Inc on May 22, 2012 in the USA,[2] and by Doubleday Publishing an imprint of Random House UK on May 24, 2012 in the UK and Ireland. The series has been printed in 20 languages and is available in 37 countries,[3] and features in the Top Ten on the New York Times Children's Best Selling Series list.[4] The film rights to the series have been sold to Lorenzo di Bonaventura.[5]

The Enchantress picks up where its predecessor, The Warlock left off. Two of its central characters, the fifteen year old twins, Sophie and Josh Newman, have been re-united after being briefly separated. They now have to choose to either stand by each other's side or to separate for good by allying themselves with either protagonist Nicholas Flamel or Dr.John Dee. If the twins choose to ally with antagonist Dr Dee the fate of humanity could be doomed as he seeks total world domination now that he has acquired all four swords of power. The choice to ally with Nicholas Flamel and his wife, Perenelle, is not a clear cut choice either, as the Flamel's motives appear to have grown ever more dubious to the twins. The only thing that is clear to the Newman twins, is that they need to choose well and that they need choose fast. Nicholas and Perenelle have only a day left to live, while Dr Dee grows more dangerous by the hour. The welfare of humanity hangs in the balance as all the central characters converge for a show-down on the ancient island of Danu Talis.

The identity of the titular character in The Enchantress has not yet been confirmed by the author. However, on his website he did have this to say to fans who wanted to guess at the character's identity.

"The Warlock (The Warlock's cover) was printed on a gold paper – and if you’re reading the series, you’ll know why. So, it should come as no surprise you discover that this (The Enchantress' cover) will be on silver foil. And if you can’t guess who the Enchantress is by now, you’ve not been paying attention."

-Michael Scott[6]

The Enchantress will also be available as an unabridged audiobook. It will be released by the Listening Library on 22 May 2012. The narrator has yet to be confirmed. The ISBN number for the audiobook is: ISBN 978-0-307-99095-2.[7]

In published order:

* The Alchemyst
* The Magician
* The Sorceress
* The Necromancer
* The Warlock
* The Enchantress

No comments:

Post a Comment